Using Facebook Message Settings To Improve Communication

facebook message settingsFacebook has made it easier than ever to stay connected with the people on your “friends list” or in your network of business contacts. The way you customize your settings makes Facebook the perfect place to stay connected with your business and clients, but you need to be careful about how you do it. When you change your Facebook message settings, you are not changing the actual message that is sent to other members of your network. Instead, you are altering some of the features that allow you to send a specific message to one group of contacts at a time.

You may wonder how you go about changing your message settings. After all, you aren’t going to click a button and have a message appear for everyone on your network. Rather, you set up these features so they work according to how you want them. This is where you should be careful. You need to make sure that you know what features are available to you and what you can and cannot change.

There are several different things that you can change in your Facebook profile, but none of them are more important than the ability to send direct messages. When you use the direct message feature, you are given the chance to send a one-way message to one person. This means that the message is only seen by that person. This is a big difference from the standard message that you create and send to all members of your network.

When you use the standard message option, it is not private. Anyone who is signed up to your account can read it. However, the information you include in your message can be restricted. You can set the Facebook message settings so that only people you wish to see your messages can do so.

Setting the privacy of your messages is easy to do. All you have to do is go to the settings and click on ‘Messages’ once you are there. Once there, click on the the’privacy’ tab. You will then be given a range of options which will vary according to your personal preferences. Click on the option that corresponds to the type of contact information you wish to display to the public.

You can also limit the visibility of your Facebook message to those you wish to send to. If you want to show this message to everyone on your friends list, but not to anyone else, just turn the option’show across networks’ on. If you don’t want anyone to be able to contact you (not to contact you back or reply to your messages), then uncheck the box marked’show this message to contacts’.

There are a number of different ways in which you can send a message to a friend. If you don’t know how to use them, it might be worth reading through the help documentation that is supplied with the service. Many of the features available will be familiar to you – the save/cancel button, the link button, the message box, etc. If you have problems, however, it might be worth using the contact form on Facebook instead.

Remember, the settings for the contact form are available in a separate tab from the ones used for messaging. To use them, click on the appropriate link. You will probably find that there are a number of different ways in which you can contact someone on Facebook. Choose the one that is most convenient for you.

When you have finished typing out the message, click send. A confirmation page will appear. Click on the link in the confirmation message to send it. Your message will be delivered to the person that you are asking to see it. They may accept or decline the invitation.

To see your entire extended network click on ‘Network’. This will take you to a page where you will see all of your other contacts added to your network. To see just those contacts you are looking at click on ‘Show All’. This will bring up a screen with the names and email addresses of all of your friends.

There is also a button to hide your profile to non-friends. To do this click on ‘Hiding Profile’ and scroll down to the setting that says ‘Facebook Will Save Your Profile Information’. Click on it to hide your profile. To contact someone else, click on the + icon on the top right corner of the status bar. Now you can send them a message to no longer show your profile to non-friends and send an email to all of your friends.

 

Share On Social Media

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top